Sunday, January 6, 2013


Shannon Running Deer is American Indian by blood, but he has forsaken his people's ancient ways to embrace the "modern" world as a wealthy, highly successful trauma surgeon.
His comfortable existence begins to unravel when, seemingly by chance, Shannon finds himself gradually drawn into the past. Pursued by an ancient evil, he knows he can change the future, if he can survive the past.
In the tradition of Diana Gabaldon, S.R. Howen's MEDICINE MAN is a distinctive and atmospheric novel full of spirituality, mystical time travel, romance, passion, and suspense.
Genre: Ethnic/Horror/Romance/Spiritual
Book Length: Plus Novel
Word Count: 109,283
Pages: 332
Price: $5.99 for ebook  $10.99 for print

"In this book, S. R. Howen takes the reader from modern times on an historical exploration of Native American mythology and heritage. 

Her character, Shannon Running Deer has become one of those that "worships" science and prefers to ignore his natural history. A chance meeting with a mysterious woman propels him into the past where he encounters life before modern science. Mystical and romantic events draw him closer to knowing more about what his people are about.

Difficult to put down once you start reading, this book satisfies romantics, historical buffs, and anyone that likes deep characters and strong action stories."

Christi Upson 5 Stars

"S.R. Howen weaves a wonderful and rich story unlike any I’ve read before. You follow the story from the point of view of Dr. Running Deer, a trauma surgeon and Blackfoot descendant who was supposed to be the tribe’s medicine man, not a cold scientific doctor.The way the story is told draws you in and keeps you guessing, at times if you are even in Shannon’s reality or his dreams, but as things continue you delve into who he is, who he is meant to be, and the mysterious woman that keeps setting his world on end.

The action is strong, the metaphysics fascinating (especially to me, a pagan reader), along with being a great romantic mystery of sorts. I loved the mystical time travel and tasting of native histories and wholeheartedly recommend to any that love stories of mysticism, romance, and mystery.

I can’t wait for more of this series! The tension and crisis were well tended but leave me wanting more!"

AP Massie, 4.5 drops

"S.R. Howen is an excellent book editor, and her talent doesn't stop there. Her novel "The Chief of All Time: Medicine Man 1" is creatively written. This novel will draw you in and keep you wanting more. Can't wait for her next one."

Roy Patten 5 Stars

"In a beautifully crafted tale the author places us in the mind of Dr. Shane Running Deer, an accomplished trauma surgeon, and of Blackfoot ancestry. Raised on the reservation, and thought to be destined to live as a Medicine Man for the tribe, Shane’s life took another turn away from the metaphysical and traditional beliefs in favor of hard science and the trauma department of a local hospital. 

This story was not a breezy read, although it will grab you and immerse you in a world that seems to teeter between reality and dream, visions and history. Interweaving ancestral lore and belief that slowly begins to gather force and impact, Shane is struggling with his vision of himself as a modern man of medicine against the visions that seem to be enticing him with the old ways. 

There are times when, not unlike Shane, the reader is not quite sure about what is a vision and what is the reality of the situation. Intermingling Shane’s dreams and visions and mirroring those with the character of Running Deer, the woman who is constantly being placed in his path is a particularly interesting device, and opens the possibility for romance or just more danger. 

The author beautifully weaves the story with the revelation of the lore of the Blackfoot, adds in a few twists to ramp up the tension and create a crisis point for Shane. Will accepting the offers he sees in his dreams ultimately enhance or destroy him? A great start to a series that is sure to enchant and enthrall. "

Gaele Hince 4 stars

Available at:

Wild Child Publishing 
Amazon Ebook 
Amazon Print 
B&N Ebook 
B&N Print 

1 comment:

Debby said...

Wow, two opposite sides of the spectrum. Sounds great!
debby236 at gmail dot com